Why I Bought The Notion of Falling In Love

It was one dance. It was one performance that I didn’t realize would be the performance I would never ever forget, it will be the most memorable performance of my life.

It was the feeling that it gave me, the lyrics to the song, the melody, the groove, they were the things that made me fall, I knew that I was falling from the very start of that cold afternoon in the dance studio when my teacher introduced me to him, he was a musician who wanted to learn how to dance to understand and give meaning to this particular song.

I listened to it. Read the lyrics and watched him sing his song. Something about loving a girl until they’re seventy and falling hard at twenty-three. I didn’t realize that this song suited me when I fell in love. Thinking about the past relationships I had or lack thereof, I plunged into the unknown headstrong and full force like entering a dance competition with vigor and conviction that I will win by working hard and loving what I do, I am the same when I loved someone, I give my all, no more no less.

“So, can you do it?” my teacher asked, raising an eyebrow.

“S-sure.” I answered.

“Thank you.” he said and smiled.

That night I stayed inside the studio lying down on the floor listening to the song and trying to come up with an easy choreography that he can follow. A few hours went by and I’m dancing to the song memorizing the words and coming up with movements that will give more meaning and life to the song, I tried to do a jump and fell, hard.

“Are you okay?” he came rushing inside the studio and held my ankle to see if I was okay.

“I’m fine.” I told him.

I stood up and glanced at the mirror, I looked very tired and sweaty. Hair a bundle of sweaty mess, my sweats dripped with sweat.

“You dance very good. This performance is going to be amazing.” He smiled.

“I can’t wait for her to see this.” he took his phone out of his pocket and showed me a picture of a girl.

“She’s also a dancer.” he told me. I smiled at him.

“I bet she’s great. It’s a great song.” I told him.

I practiced with him for three weeks and I got to know him through his other songs and how he felt about the girl on the photo. I wasn’t supposed to fall but I did and that’s that.

Leave a Reply

