YouTube: Why I Suck At Talking To A Camera

Here’s the thing, lately I have been spending countless hours in front of my laptop not writing but rather watching YouTube videos of other people talking and making stuff up and just being themselves and i actually toyed with the idea of doing it myself.

A few months ago, I decided to give it a try by telling myself out loud, “Hey, you can do that. How hard is it to talk to a camera and give opinions about whatever.” So that’s what I did. I went and got my dad’s video camera, attached it to the tripod and sat down infornt of that camera and talked about my fangirl story.

There are a few things that I noticed I that did when I did do the thing trying to be a “YouTuber”, 1) I seem to mumble stuff that has nothing to do with anything in that video, 2) English is not my native language hence the mumbling, and 3) I had very bad lighting.

I seem to think that I may interject something good in the community that is YouTube but I’m starting to think that maybe it’s not the medium for me to dive into. I mean, I want to get rich and famous by just making up games and being myself and doing make-up tutorials and maybe try and share some insightful thoughts and opinions to people around the world about my life but then again, I have six subscibers, a few hundred views and not enough creativity for making videos, plus I’m a lousy video editor.

I second guess myself a lot and I do think about what others think of me, a lot and maybe that’s what I’m worried about in joining this big community of pretty people who can express themselves easily through a camera lens and maybe that’s not me but I’m sure as hell not gonna stop trying though.

And maybe, this post is just a way to self-promote my channel.

But no, that’s not the reason I’m writing this, but I’m writing this because I’m throwing away all judgement about what I like to do and just write about something that has been bothering me for quite sometime because i feel like it’s jsut too silly to talk about let alone write about it on my own blog.

free write 

2 thoughts on “YouTube: Why I Suck At Talking To A Camera

  1. Those YouTubers are not winging it. They have a script, many of them have memorised them, many of them have them posted on large cards behind the camera.

    The biggest challenge is getting used to the sound of your own voice, nobody sounds like they do in their heads.

    Don’t worry about the accent, I was first drawn to my wife because I loved the sound of her accent.

    Keep trying!

Leave a Reply

