Noisy Thoughts on a Train Station

It’s eleven o’clock, I’m late for a class that I really don’t like because the professor is an ass and the train is also late.

In the middle of the bustling city, the train broke down and needed fixing and I don’t even know if I’m going to make it to my class.

Sweating in my uniform, composed of a white blouse, a navy blue vest, a neon yellow scarf, navy blue skirt and a black stockings, I’m clearly melting in the thirty-one degree celsius heat of my world.

I look around and immediately want myself to disappear in a cold refrigerator but that thing will never happen, I overhear some lady talking rather loudly on her phone and it gave me a headache.

“Yes, the train has broken down again in Central Station and I’m waiting for the next one to come.” she screamed on her phone.

“No, sir. I’m sorry, the train broke down and I’m waiting for the next one to come.” said a man on his phone, wanting to keep his job.

“Dude, you don’t understand. If I don’t come to class today, I’m gonna be so screwed!” said a student on the verge of crying because he might possibly fail his class due to being late.

While I try to keep my anxiety in check with this heat and with this headache. I tried to breathe in and out and tried to picture my happy place, when the train came to a stop in front of us, people came in fast wanting the air conditioning of the giant travelling machine.

I entered the train taking a whiff of the air conditioning and held the handle bar next to my head. Only thirty minutes more and I’ll be safely tucked in a chair in class minding my own business wanting to graduate fast so I can get out of my life.

Train stations, airport terminals, subway stops: soulless spaces full of distracted, stressed zombies, or magical sets for fleeting, interlocking human stories? – Daily Prompt

5 thoughts on “Noisy Thoughts on a Train Station

  1. Pingback: Transiting | It's Mayur Remember?

  2. I’m late to reading this. But your grammar seems unusually off, some clunky senses and cliched comparisons and descriptions. I know constructive criticism is the way forward on here but I think this blog needs an overhaul.

Leave a Reply

