Mistaken Identity

You’re sitting at a café when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and, for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next? – Daily Prompt

“I’ve been looking for you.” a guy who looks like an Art Major in the nearby university said to me.

“Excuse me?” I asked him raising an eyebrow.

He immediately sat down on theseat across me and held the hand that was resting on my phone on the table. I looked at him not wanting to freak out but on the inside, I was already having a full on panic attack.

“Who are you?” I asked him trying to hide the edge in my voice.

“I’ve been looking for you, Magda.” he said, he took off his eyeglasses and placed them beside my hand.

“Dude, I’m not Magda.” I told him pulling my hand away from his grasp.

“I guess you’re not. I’m sorry.” he stood up, got his glasses and gave me a small smile before he took off.

I followed him with my eyes as he walked towards the door of the cafe and on to the street. Magda, who the hell is Magda? I’m sure as hell not Magda. I snapped out of my own mind and saw that a note was lodged between my phone and the table.

It was a note from the dude. “You may not be Magda but I hope I find her.”

Leave a Reply

